Emilie Gossiaux — Yale MFA & Wynn Newhouse Award

Congratulations to Emilie Gossiaux for earning her MFA in sculpture from the Yale University School of Art last week. Three of her works are currently on display in the Wynn Newhouse Awards Exhibition at the Palitz Gallery — reception Wednesday, May 29 at 6pm — in the Joseph I. Lubin House, 11 East 61st Street.

Nominees and winners of the Wynn Newhouse Awards are chosen by a committee, composed of persons respected in the arts and disabilities communities. Sponsored by the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation, the Awards provide grants to artists of excellence who happen to have disabilities. Recipients share an annual award totaling $60,000, allocated by the judges.

The 2018 awards selection committee was comprised of: Sara Felice, Point of Contact Gallery; Carrie Moyer, artist and faculty Hunter College; Jane Kaplowicz Rosenblum, artist; and Alice Sheppard, artist and 2015 awardee.

The 2018 grant winners include Rachel Fein-Smolinski, Emilie Gossiaux, Kazumi Kamae, Alma Leiva, jes sachse, and Sandie Yi. The work of these artists encompasses drawings, paintings, ceramics, video, and site-specific installations.

Previous recipients include Marlon Mullen, Carolyn Lazard, Christopher Knowles, Park McArthur, Dawoud Bey, and Katya Tepper, among others.

Works by winning artists will be on exhibition at the Palitz Gallery, at the Joseph I. Lubin House at 11 East 61st Street in New York — on display from April 22 to June 6, 2019.